Home > Ideas and Opinions > Tolerance is a Must

Tolerance is a Must

For all who may care…

I know my views on religion are controversial, at least in the eyes of some. But I want to make just a few things clear:

-I am not at all against religion. Religion provides for many a sense of community, and  much else besides. I have many friends of faith, and I love them dearly.

-I am not a radical. I am not one to burn bibles or protest against having the words “under God” in the Pledge of Allegiance. I don’t want conflict. Just tolerance and understanding.

-Just because I’m an atheist does not mean I don’t have morals. Quite the contrary. Though I believe that “right” and “wrong” are purely human notions, not set in place by a higher power, I do have my own convictions about what is moral and immoral, just as everyone else does. My views may differ from yours, but that does not necessarily make them wrong. We all see the world through different eyes.

-I love having intelligent conversations with people about religion. It’s fascinating, and I think it allows me to better understand why people believe what they do, and why I don’t believe. I find it to be a very enriching experience.

Last, and most certainly not least (in fact, probably most importantly):

-I am fairly firm in my views, just as you may be in yours. I respect those of faith, and try my best to listen to what they have to say with an open heart and mind. But I expect the same in return. Try to understand my side, even if you do not necessarily agree with my position. Do not threaten me  by telling me that I will burn in Hell, and please, please do not try to convert me. How would you feel if I tried to shove my atheism down your throat? Quite bothered, I would imagine.

“Think for yourselves, and let others enjoy the privilege to do so too.” -Voltaire

Categories: Ideas and Opinions
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

